Lorde – Pure Heroine (2013)

Lorde - Pure Heroine vinyl

Lorde – Pure Heroine (2013)

Pure Heroine is the debut studio album from New Zealand singer/songwriter Ella Yelich-O’Connor AKA Lorde. It was released through UniversalLava, and Republic Records on 27 September 2013. After several unsuccessful sessions with songwriters, Lorde was paired with Joel Little by A&R representative Scott Maclachlan, who assisted with the album’s production. Recording took place at Golden Age Studios in AucklandPure Heroine has been described as a dream popelectronica and electropop album with minimalist production, deep bass and programmed beats.

Pure Heroine received generally positive reviews from music critics, many of whom praised its songwriting, production, and Lorde’s vocal performance. It appeared on several year-end critics’ lists, and was nominated for Best Pop Vocal Album at the 56th Annual Grammy Awards. The album deals with themes of youth and critiques mainstream culture, exploring materialismfameconsumer culture and social statusPure Heroine has been noted for its influence on contemporary pop music and challenge to modern pop artists.

Lorde released the album’s lead single, “Royals“, to critical and commercial success; it was followed by “Tennis Court“, “Team” and “Glory and Gore“. The album debuted at number three on the US Billboard 200 chart, selling 129,000 album-equivalent units, and topped the charts in 12 other markets. Pure Heroine was one of 2014’s best-selling albums. It was certified platinum in the United Kingdom, double platinum in Canada and triple platinum in Australia and the United States, selling more than 5 million copies worldwide.


  1. Tennis Court
  2. 400 Lux
  3. Royals
  4. Ribs
  5. Buzzcut Season
  6. Team
  7. Glory and Gore
  8. Still Sane
  9. White Teeth Teens
  10. A World Alone


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2021 vinylsay