Massive Attack – Mezzanine (1998)

Massive Attack - Mezzanine vinyl

Massive Attack – Mezzanine (1998)

Released on 20 April 1998 after a long hiatus by Circa and Virgin Records, Mezzanine was album number 3 from English electronic music group Massive Attack and their most commercially successful release. A record announcing not only that the group was back, but that they can create a masterpiece as good as their debut. Here Massive Attack recruit a live band, while maintaining their trademark downtempo sound. Tracks like Angel, feature stark production accompanied by Horace Andy’s beautiful vocal. Teardrop featuring Elizabeth Fraser of Cocteau Twins, brings a new life and emotion to their trip hop sound. Pressed on 180G vinyl. Interesting fact is the band put up the album for legal download months before the official physical album release. Produced by Massive Attack and Neil Davidge, it saw the duo expanding their trip hop sound to electronica stylings,[1] with diverse influences from new wave,[2] rockhip hop, and dub music.[3]

Mezzanine topped the charts in the United Kingdom, Australia, Ireland, and New Zealand, becoming the group’s most commercially successful album to date. It spawned four singles: “Risingson“, “Teardrop“, “Angel“, and “Inertia Creeps“.

This is the 2013, Limited 2LP vinyl reissue.


  1. Angel
  2. Risingson
  3. Teardrop
  4. Inertia Creeps
  5. Exchange
  6. Dissolved Girl
  7. Man Next Door
  8. Black Milk
  9. Mezzanine
  10. Group Four
  11. (Exchange)


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2021 vinylsay