Tom Misch & Yussef Dayes – What Kinda Music [2LP] (2020)

Tom Misch & Yussef Dayes - What Kinda Music vinyl

Tom Misch & Yussef Dayes – What Kinda Music [2LP] (2020)

What Kinda Music is a smooth, instrumentally powerful album by an R&B producer and guitarist Tom Misch and Yussef Dayes, a jazz/experimental drummer.

This might be the first collaboration between the two, but both musicians were admirers of each other’s work long before that. They met at the launch party for Tom’s well-received debut studio album Geography back in 2018, but Tom seems to have met Yussef even before:

I actually remember going to a talent show when I was like 7 or something. I remember going to a local school in my area and seeing this guy play drums — he was about 9 at the time. I remember thinking ‘This guy’s amazing at drums,’ and then fast-forward 15 years, when I’m working on this record, I realize that guy was Yussef.

‘What Kinda Music’ is an astonishing collaboration between two artists of very different disciplines, and one of the most unique and seamlessly original projects of its ilk to date. Moving fluidly through sleek electronica, avant-garde jazz, vintage hip-hop and so much more, Misch and Dayes take you on a journey that is by turns surprising and spontaneous, heady and head spinning, and nothing less than compelling – a singular vision which fuses the DNA of both musicians with spectacular results, as can be seen in the title track, which comes backed by a gorgeously atmospheric video by XX. Even though the fundamental bones of this project came together very quickly, its actual provenance stretches much, much further back, with the pair not only growing up in the same area of South East London, but Misch actually seeing Dayes play on drums in the school talent show for the first time when he was roughly 8 or 9. They both kept tabs on each other – Misch becoming a fan of Dayes’ act Yussef Kamaal, Dayes clocking his videos in 2014 – but it was only when they met at a launch party for Misch’s debut LP ‘Geography’ in 2018 that the proverbial creative sparks began to fly. ‘As a musician you’re always looking for contemporaries who can push you and challenge you and make you better’, says Dayes. ‘I instantly felt that with Tom – he was such a gifted musician, and so prolific’. Throughout the record, there is an utterly joyful feel of two musicians at the top of their game sparking off one another, picking up ideas and running with them – zigging where the other zags, ebbing where the other flows, with Misch producing the majority of the record and both having a hand in the overall sound and feel of the record.

What Kinda Music consists of 12 songs with appearances from Freddie GibbsRocco Palladino and Kaidi Akinnibi


  1. What Kinda Music
  2. Festival
  3. Nightrider (Featy Freddie Gibbs)
  4. Tidal Wave
  5. Sensational
  6. The Real
  7. Lift Off (Feat Rocco Palladino)
  8. I Did It For You
  9. Last 100
  10. Kyiv
  11. Julie Mangos
  12. Storm Before The Calm (Feat Kaidi Akinnibi)


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2021 vinylsay